The Infosys Prize will be awarded in accordance with the following statutes adopted by the Infosys Science Foundation


The Infosys Prize is awarded to a researcher who is 40 years of age or below for an invention, innovation, or an achievement of distinction, and the promise of future research and impact.

To be eligible, nominees should be 40 years of age or less as on October 31, 2024 (born on or after November 1, 1984).

The nominee can be 1) resident in India or a person of Indian origin residing anywhere in the world whose work impacts India or humanity at large 2) a person residing anywhere in the world and of any origin whose work impacts India.

The Prize is awarded annually to a single winner in 6 categories: Economics, Engineering & Computer Science, Humanities & Social Sciences, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, and Physical Sciences.

The Prize consists of a gold medal, citation and a purse of 100,000 USD.

Winners of the Infosys Prize in any category, who are not resident in India, are required to spend any 30 days of their choosing in the calendar year following the announcement of the award in an Indian institution of their choice. (The ISF will host the roundtrip business class travel and domestic travel from the winner’s residence to the host institute, accommodation, and food.) The host institution and the winner can choose a time in the calendar year that is mutually convenient for maximum impact and connect with students and researchers in India.

Winners are expected to give a lecture at an institute of their choice in India within the one-year period of receiving the prize.

Self-nominations are not allowed.

A nomination once submitted is valid for three consecutive years and will lapse if the nominee crosses the age of 40 years.

Winners of the prize cannot be nominated again.

Prize winners will be selected by the respective jury, and the decision of the jury shall be final.

The trustees of the Infosys Science Foundation shall invite a person of repute in the relevant field to chair the jury for that particular category. The jury chair shall choose other jurors to complete the jury for that specific category. The tenure of the chair shall be five years, and each individual juror shall serve for one year, but can be invited back in a subsequent year by the Chair.

If the jury does not find suitable candidates, the Prize will not be awarded in that year.

The Prize shall consist of a cash award of USD 100,000 or its equivalent in other currencies, a citation certificate and a medallion. The prize money may be subject to taxes as imposed by the Government of India. If a team is selected to win the award, the prize money shall be equally shared by the team members and each individual member of the team shall be awarded a separate citation and medal.

There will be a single winner in a category in all categories unless the Prize is awarded to a group of individuals for joint / shared work. The eligibility criteria of residence and age applicable to individual winners shall apply to each individual in the group.

In case a team wins the award, the prize money will be equally shared by the joint winners.

The Prize will be awarded once a year.

Key dates


The laureates are awarded at the ceremony with a gold medal, citation certificate and prize purse of USD 100,000 (or its equivalent in Rupees).

April - June

Invited nominators can submit their nominations online and via email


The window to submit nominations for the Infosys Prize closes

July - September

The jury reviews and discusses nominee applications and shortlists nominees in each category


The jury shortlists the final top three nominees in each category


The winners of the Prize are announced through a Press Conference in Bangalore