Kaushik Basu

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan

Professor of Mathematics and Frank J. Gould Professor of Science at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, USA

Srinivasa Varadhan's awards and honors include the National Medal of Science (2010) from US President Barack Obama, which is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on scientists, engineers, and inventors. He is also the winner of the Padma Bhushan (2008) from the Government of India, Abel Prize (2007), the Leroy Steele Prize (1996), the Margaret and Herman Sokol Award of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences – New York University (1995), and the Birkhoff Prize (1994). He also has honorary degrees from the Chennai Mathematics Institute (2008), the Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata – India (2004), and from University Pierre et Marie Curie in Paris (2003).